Something Sacred

I searched for something sacred, I went out into the streets, got jostled by Prozac hordes, loitered, looked elsewhere, trawled through nameless bus stations, tram termini, got moved on for reciting poetry in sterile 24/7 domestos atriums by the hypnotised shopping elite.

I searched for something sacred, I held out my hands, got brushed aside, I screamed at the masses, questioned whether they were truly alive, got branded a crank, got spat on by the mindless electric hubble, raised myself up, got knocked back down, never gave up.

I searched for something sacred, thought the answer lay in booze, drank and then puked up all I’d ever learnt, ordered some drugs, moved casually onto sex, kept telling myself I needed the buzz, looked for god in apocalyptic cappuccino visions, made my home amongst amnesiac nefilim freaks.

I searched for something sacred, I travelled many miles, wasting countless lifetimes revering the flesh, promising to do better, to try harder.

I searched for something sacred, I smashed through siren walls, sped across graveyard ice, crying electric tears in blind motels and gimcrack halls with imposter prophets and burning codes of loveless doomsday jigsaw gas.

I searched for something sacred, I took a deep breath, held, stepped delicately out of time, then exhaled and lost it, fell back down, never searched again, never hoped or forced it, just sat back and waited, I searched for something sacred.

Leave a Reply

